Former CIA Officers Endorse Haspel

Gina Haspel is the first CIA career Clandestine Service officer to be nominated as Director since Richard Helms in the 1960s and William Colby in the 1970s. Ms. Haspel, currently the Acting Director of the CIA, has been endorsed by a host of former national security senior officials drawn from the ranks of the Intelligence Community, the Department of Defense, and the State Department. When someone rises through the bureaucracy, it is important to take their measure from those who have served closely with them—their peers.

The undersigned represent an array of former Agency officers who have served with Gina either in the foreign field or in CIA Headquarters. Some of us have known her for over 30 years since she was a first-tour operations officer. Others worked closely with her after she reached mid-level management ranks and then later as one of the most accomplished Senior Intelligence Service leaders the Agency has produced. In her, we saw the image of what we want a peer and leader to be: someone who offers professional respect, a person who commits to the highest standards of conduct and ethical behavior, and a bold but pragmatic decision-maker who places the interests of our nation above personal advancement or petty politics.

While Gina has spent most of her career on the operations side of the intelligence business, the officials who strongly support her nomination come from all disciplines, to include analysis, administration, and technology. Hers is a corporate, whole-of -Agency, whole-of-government approach designed to work productively within the national security community to keep our nation safe.

We urge swift Senate approval of her nomination to be the next Director of the Central Intelligence Agency.

Heidi August, former Chief of Station

Mike Baker, former Operations Officer

Stephanie Usry Bellistri, former Directorate of Operations senior officer

Bob Benedetti, former Chief of Station

Vaughn Bishop, former Directorate of Intelligence senior manager and Chief of Station

Alex Bolling, former Chief of Station

Andrea Hattler Bramson, former Directorate of Science and Technology senior manager

Patty Brandmaier, former Senior Executive Officer

Timothy Buch, former Directorate of Intelligence senior officer and component chief

Christy Jobe Carter, former Reports Officer

Jim Costana, former Senior Intelligence Service officer

Jack Devine, former Acting Deputy Director of Operations

Paula Doyle, former Chief of Station and Associate Deputy Director of Operations Technology

John Driscoll, former Operations Officer

Bob Eatinger, former attorney, Office of General Counsel

Shaun Fitzpatrick, former intelligence officer

Carol Rollie Flynn, former Chief of Station

Melvin Gamble, former Chief of Station and Directorate of Operations component chief

Christopher T. Griffin, former Directorate of Operations senior officer

Mark T. Gygi, former Chief of Station

Gerald Hamilton, former Chief of Station and Directorate of Operations component chief

Beth Hitchings, former Deputy Chief Financial Officer

Daniel Hoffman, former senior clandestine service officer

Paul Hollingsworth, former Directorate of Operations senior officer and Senior Director for Intelligence Programs, National Security Council

Monelle Holshey, former Directorate of Operations reports officer

Robert Hultslander, former Chief of Station

Terry Hussey, former Directorate of Operations senior officer

Leslie Ireland, former Assistant Secretary of Intelligence and Analysis for the Treasury Department

Susana Isaacson, former Chief of Leadership Development, Directorate of Operations

Justin J. Jackson, former Deputy Director/National Clandestine Service

Kenneth Kaiser, former Directorate of Operations component chief

Elinor Kelly, former Senior Intelligence Service officer

James E. Kirkman, former Chief, Protective Programs

Paul Kolbe, former Chief of Station and Directorate of Operations component chief

Frank Knott, former Chief of Station and Directorate of Operations component chief

William Lofgren, former Directorate of Operations component chief

Jason Matthews, former Chief of Station

Suzanne Matthews, former Directorate of Operations officer

Mary Rose McCaffrey, former Director of Security

Patricia McGuckin Stuart, former Chief of Station

Carmen A. Medina, former Deputy Director for Intelligence

Carmen Middleton, former Directorate of Intelligence senior officer and Deputy Executive Director

Carla Gayle Milor, former Directorate of Operations senior officer

James Micsan, former Chief of Station and Directorate of Operations component chief

Michael Morgan, former Directorate of Operations senior officer and Assistant Deputy Director of National Intelligence

Gerald A. O'Shea, former Chief of Station

William R. Piekney, former Chief of Station and Directorate of Operations component chief

Richard E. Pound, former Chief of Station and Directorate of Operations component chief

Pamela Purcilly, former President's Daily Briefer and Associate Deputy Director for Intelligence

William Richardson, former Deputy Director of the Office of South Asian Analysis

Keith E. Riggin, former Chief of Station

David Rolph, former Chief of Station

Norman Roule, former Directorate of Operations component chief and National Intelligence Manager for Iran Thomas A. Ruth II, former Chief of Station James F. Sartain, former Chief of Station Dawn Scalici, former Directorate of Intelligence senior officer Joe Schmank, former Senior Intelligence Service Center Director John Sears, former Senior Intelligence Service officer Charlie Seidel, former Chief of Station Rodney G. Smith, former Directorate of Operations component chief Mark S. Sparkman, former Chief of Station Sue Waldman Steinke, former analyst Susan R. Symington, former Directorate of Operations component chief Sara B. Thibault, former Directorate of Operations component chief Jeanne Tisinger, former Deputy Director for Support Thomas Twetten, former Deputy Director for Operations Robert Wallace, former Director, Office of Technical Service DeNeige Watson, former President's Daily Briefer Harry Wetherbee, former Directorate of Operations senior operations officer James Wilcox, former Directorate of Science and Technology senior officer Meredith Woodruff, former center chief Paul Zalucky, former Directorate of Operations senior officer